A tie to the Beginning

What is your middle name? Does it carry any special meaning/significance?

I was handed off to the nuns within days of being born. No hugs and skin time or visitors to oggle at a window pointing at a little human in a pink blanket, none of those things most wanted children get.

The nuns named me Roxanne and had me baptized on Christmas Eve. In Hebrew the name means; Star of Magnificence, Dawn. Since I was born in the morning…I guess it fits.

There were some concerns about health issues within the bloodline, and thus, they held off on adopting me out. I was not growing like the other babies as well, and that gave them pause.

At six months, a decision was made that I was available for the right family who was aware of what they knew. Upon going home with my adoptive parents, they made a decision to change my name.

While the movie had not come out yet, my dad didn’t want anyone calling his daughter Rocky. My mom had grown up as a Mary Ann, so she suggested that they keep the Ann part and add something new on the front of it. Lisa was a very popular name at the time, and so it was chosen.

My middle name is one of my only ties to my beginning.

Leave a comment